Login Register

VIDEO: Complaints over skateboarders in Danesgate, Lincoln

By Barnaby_B  |  Posted: July 26, 2012

Danesgate

The Collection in Danesgate, Lincoln, where there has been complaints about skateboarders

Comments (0)

Youngsters are being urged not to skateboard in Lincoln's Danesgate after a number of complaints from businesses and residents.

Issues over noise and danger to pedestrians have been raised with police regarding groups of youths skateboarding in the busy tourist area of the city.

Officers have warned a number of youths and are appealing to youngsters to avoid the area or face action.

Inspector Mark Garthwaite said: "We can use a Lincoln bylaw to take action, but we'd rather not go that far.

"We want young skateboarders to avoid the area as business owners, residents and people visiting The Collection have complained to us.

We recognise that there are not a lot of facilities for skateboarders in the city and although we are not in a position to fund such a project, we would be more than willing to work with a group of youngsters if they wanted to bid to have one built."

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters
  • simonlincs  |  July 31 2012, 9:43AM

    Having visited the museum,I would say that a skate park is a better use for it,whoever designed it wants shooting,to say its ugly is a massive understatement and to visit it is to experience a massive disappointment,personally I think they should have left it as a car park,it was more attractive and much more useful !!!!

    Rate   5
    Report
  • VictorToo  |  July 31 2012, 8:37AM

    Agree with most of the posters here. I've read on numerous occasions on this website about plans to build a skateboarding park, but have yet to see anything happen. The hold up is usually people objecting in case the park attracts the 'wrong type of crowd.' You can't have it both ways, you either build a park with all the facilities, and manage it somehow, or the teens will find their own place to practice, and I'm sure the police have better things to do with their limited resources than try and chase down a group of lads trying to have a bit of innocent fun.

    Rate   3
    Report
  • Oldernwiser  |  July 31 2012, 8:24AM

    They'll stop them - I'm fairly sure. At the West gate to the castle the council spent many thousands changing the landscaping - ostensibly to create something more in keeping with the castle gate but in fact to prevent skateboarding. Action by successive governments has brought us to a position where the police can, and will, use one or another of many, many recent laws (or, occasionally, a centuries old one) to prevent people doing all manner of things they once did without problem. They apply the wishes of the "stay-indoors and make no noise" middle-class and business brigade. And they are perfectly happy to arrest many to make a point and get them out of the way - and then charge few. Last week London police arrested 182 cyclists protesting peacefully (about the miles and miles of (Olympic) road closures and high fines for cycling on an Olympic route) and removed them from the streets. 182 arrested - three charged .... and then with offences which are inoffensive. They say we get the government we deserve - I don't accept that these youngsters have yet done anything to deserve the heavy hand of the Lincolnshire Constabulary on their collars - but fear they'll feel it very shortly ......... and I've no idea why youngsters shouldn't be allowed to use the urban landscape for amenity purposes; we're all encouraged to enjoy the rural landscape afater all. That said - noise is a genuine nuisance and skateboards crashing time after time and late at night will be a real annoyance ...... But we voted for these

    Rate   3
    Report
  • LincolnLizzie  |  July 30 2012, 8:43PM

    A skateboard bowl/park has been "being looked into" by the council for nearly 10 years to my knowledge. Who is being disturbed? Not many residents in Danesgate. Let the kids skate please, they need somewhere. City Council - pull your finger out!

    Rate   6
    Report
  • Tom_Whimpole  |  July 29 2012, 4:11PM

    Since Labour got back in there doesn't seem to have been any movement on things for kids. Funny that.

    Rate   18
    Report
  • Adrian1208  |  July 29 2012, 2:56PM

    The youngsters arnt doing any harm, so leave them alone, there's far worst things that they could get up to.

    Rate   7
    Report
  • ThornyRay  |  July 27 2012, 9:56PM

    Maybe if the Council built the skateboard park they agreed to build a few years ago?

    Rate   11
    Report
  • InsideStory  |  July 27 2012, 6:14PM

    The police dont have time or resources to ticket illegal parking causing endless amount of obstructions in the city but can spend time on kids with skateboards ?

    Rate   8
    Report
  • MrAWG45  |  July 27 2012, 10:29AM

    Just watched the vid - so they have a bye-law to persecute the youngsters.

    Rate   4
    Report
  • MrAWG45  |  July 27 2012, 10:27AM

    Skateboarding is not a crime and I suppose they would have to use some public order or nuisance law to discourage the kids from taking part in a harmless healthy activity. If they sit behind a computer all day, they are criticised, if they take part in a healthy activity, they are criticised, if they hang about in groups, they are criticised. I'm retired and love to see kids taking part in skateboarding, parkour, bike stunting - rather than hanging around as they do in the Millenium Lake area, drinking, swimming and leaving their litter behind.

    Rate   11
    Report

      YOUR COMMENTS AWAITING MODERATION

       
       

      MORE NEWS HEADLINES

       
       
       

      MOST POPULAR