Login Register

Women at the crease longer than men

By Lincolnshire Echo  |  Posted: January 23, 2013

Comments (0)

The Women's World Cup has been running for longer than the men's version.

It was first staged in England in 1973, when it was won by the hosts, who beat Australia by 118 runs in the final at Edgbaston.

Since then there have been a further eight tournaments.

Australia have won on five occasions (1978, 1982, 1988, 1997 and 2005), England twice (1993 and 2009) and New Zealand (2000) once.

The tournament has been staged twice each in England (1973 and 1993), India (1978 and 1997) , New Zealand (1982 and 2000) and Australia (1988 and 2009) as well as South Africa (2005).

The competition has grown in stature after women's cricket merged with the International Cricket Council (ICC) in 2005.

The tenth edition of the tournament will be held in India in 2013.

Read more from Lincolnshire Echo

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters