Login Register

Lincolnshire UKIP five in limbo

By Lincolnshire Echo  |  Posted: December 06, 2013

UKIP five from Lincolnshire in limbo

Chris Pain

Comments (0)

Five ousted UKIP councillors are still waiting to hear if their memberships will be re-instated following an appeal hearing in London.

Bob McAuley, John Beaver, Tiggs Keywood-Wainwright, Alan Jesson and Richard Fairman were removed by party bosses after they decided to join councillor Chris Pain in a breakaway group.

Their appeal was heard by UKIP's national executive committee on Tuesday but no verdict was announced – leaving all five in limbo.

The group initially called themselves the United Kingdom Independence Group, following a split with original UKIP members on Lincolnshire County Council in September.

But Wainfleet and Burgh councillor Pain, who had already been shown the door by UKIP on September 18 because of a dispute with national chairman Steve Crowther, insists the UKIG reference has been dropped in favour of UKIP Lincolnshire.

Much of the evidence presented by the five councillors concerned the fact that UKIP Lincolnshire is not a political party.

An element of confusion over their standing was caused by the local authority website.

That names them as a political party in error because of the way its website is set up by Government.

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters